RSS

Bad Health Worse Weather

19 Sep

Not sure what the weather’s been like in your neck of the woods, but it’s been cold and drizzly here with our first frost last week, not to mention our first sickness of the fall/winter season.  My boy had the fever/cough/sore throat/congestion combo virus that felt a lot like the flu … then my girl came down with a lovely case of strep throat … so, I’ve been pretty content to let them sit cozily by the fire and drink lemon tea, chicken soup, lemon tea.  Of course, I had plenty of sympathy cups too.

Needless to say, while I have not been posting my daily scrap bucket, I have been photographing it (rather poorly due to dreary weather) and below are bunch of buckets for your review.

We have a weekly fall vegetable share from a local farm and this was a particularly white veggie week.  I was not terribly inspired so I just roasted most of them, mashed the potatoes and called it a day.    What you can see: (clockwise top to bottom):

  • peelings from two kohlrabi bulbs
  • onion skin & tops
  • tough asparagus ends
  • the beginning of LOTS of lemons (for tea)
  • turnip stems & peelings (can’t see)
  • potato peelings

Image

The weekly farm basket also has lots of greens (kale and collards this week) plus I have those greens and more growing in our veggie garden.  Again, uninspired, I made my standard sauteed kale with garlic and apple cider vinegar and added shallots.  Our favorite pairing for those greens is baked sweet potato and oven-roasted cod.  Quick, colorful and tasty.  What you can see: (clockwise top to bottom):

  • kale stems
  • shallot peels & ends
  • more citrus

Image

If you are sick you have to have chicken soup, right?  It’s a universal law.  And mine does not come from a can.  You might remember that I make stock on a nearly weekly basis and this week was not an exception.  What you can see: (clockwise top to bottom):

  • orange, lemon and grapefruit rinds (told you we were loading vitamin C)
  • outer lettuce leaves
  • crushed egg shells
  • celery bottoms (can’t see)
  • cast off parsley fronds (can’t see)

Image

Mid-week it was time for our monthly gathering of high school moms and it may not surprise you that I am the social co-chair.  That just means I appropriately, seasonally decorate the media center and bring a lot of food and open the wine.  This month I made the absolutely fantastic Bacon-Wrapped Potatoes and some pretty fab (albeit crispy) Chili Lime Shrimp Wontons.  You can see I fed my kids … nothing … except snitches of that food!  Seriously, we had smoothies … tea, toast, soft-boiled eggs … and cinnamon spiced apple cider.  What you can see: (clockwise top to bottom):

  • the now obligatory lemon & orange peels
  • banana peel
  • lime rinds (for the shrimp)
  • cinnamon sticks

Image

It’s hard to believe that my kids are not sick of smoothies.  I honestly cross my fingers each morning when I ask my son if he wants one, and when he says yes, I breath a sigh of relief and get to work.  I don’t know what else the kid will eat while driving in the morning.  By the way, he does not know that his smoothie is a GREAT place to hide some of those ever-present greens … shhhh!  I did balance the healthy smoothie out with some dried cherry oatmeal cookies… What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • yet more citrus
  • banana peels
  • egg shells
  • tea bags

The second bucket builds on top of the first.  After days of simple eating everybody was starved, so I made a roasted pork tenderloin glazed with Dijon mustard and marmalade, sauteed cabbage, mashed sweet potatoes AND mashed russet potatoes, a green salad and brownies.  Phew!  What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • russet potato peels
  • eggshells
  • ribs & stem ends two amazing farm share sweet red peppers
  • outer lettuce leaves
  • cabbage cores
  • radish stem ends

Image

Image

By Friday night my boy was way better and so he had some friends over after school and before football. Baked pasta is the way to go when you are not sure how many hungry 17- and 18-year olds will be descending on your home.  I made a huge pan of penne with kale (of course), pancetta, parmesan and cream.  Add a garden salad and brownies and they were fortified for Friday night.  What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • kale stems
  • chamomile tea bags
  • iceberg lettuce core
  • citrus
  • red pepper stems & ribs
  • red onion stem end & skin
  • eggshells

Image

 

And that’s the week!  Looking forward to sunny skies and smiling faces!

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
