RSS

Two Day Bucket

08 Oct

Life is busy.  I’m sure that is not a revelation to anyone.  I am regularly surprised though by just how busy the days are and how quickly they run together.  Like yesterday.  I forgot to take a photo of my scrap bucket because we were juggling rainy weather and soccer practice and ballet and the first college acceptance letter (yay!) and life, so here are two days worth of scraps to ponder:

Image

What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • yellowish green stem of a leek
  • iceberg lettuce core
  • carrot peels
  • iceberg lettuce outer leaves
  • banana peel
  • half of a lemon
  • apple core
  • russet potato peels
  • stem end of a leek
  • stem end of a small red pepper

What you can’t see:

  • eggshells
  • extremely dirty mushroom stems
  • garlic paper
  • stem end & ribs of a cayenne pepper
  • skin & stem ends from two Vidalia onions

What I made with all of that:

  • Banana Peanut Butter Smoothies
  • Bacon, Lettuce & Muenster Sandwiches on homemade bread
  • Scrambled Eggs with Muenster and Mushrooms
  • Potato Leek Soup
  • Really unbelievably spicy Chili 

Let me tell you about the chili.  My neighbor gave me a bag of about 25 homegrown cayenne peppers.  I’ve been debating whether to dry or pickle these or turn them into hot sauce, but since I was out of jalapenos and serrano peppers, I decided to sub a cayenne for dinner.  We like spicy, so I was not concerned.  Plus, I’ve made this chili about a million times and always tweak it for what I have on hand.  Today I used fantastic local grass fed chuck steak and a single red cayenne pepper.  WOW.  Can you say S P I C Y ?  Moral of the story:  Beware of neighbors bearing peppers.  No.  Taste hot peppers before you cook recklessly with them!  And if you forget to taste, have plenty of sour cream, milk, and homemade bread around to soak up the spice.  Would you like some leftovers?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2013 in Musings, The Daily Bucket

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
