RSS

Forensic Compost …

26 Oct
 

I think I have a pretty good memory.  I remember things I need to remember, and if I forget, well, I console myself that it must not have been that important anyway (or as my dad used to say when I was a little kid, “it must have been a lie”).  I’m pretty good at straying off subject too.  Just ask my husband, or kids … no, actually.  Please don’t.

Anyway, can you recall what you had for breakfast, lunch and/or dinner every night for the last two weeks?  That’s what I thought.  No.  October was a spectacularly busy month (why, why, why?  Two catering jobs, college applications infinity, oh, life).  Each day I’ve added another photo and another layer of guilt at not posting.  (Confession: when it came time to choose what to do with the final moments of each night I chose sleep instead. of blog.  That’s why I’m an unknown.)

Now I have a dozen buckets of … what?  There are no notes, and my memory is shut as soundly as the door of a bank vault.  I recognize about half of this photo glut.  CSI: Compost?  I remember making a recipe of my mom’s and, wait!  I do remember that the stray arugula leaf was one I grew, and bugs ate.  Yay me.

The rest of these scraps, we’ll just sort through together.  Maybe you ate dinner at my house and can remind me what of I cooked?  Thanks!

So, here, in no particular order (except that’s how they were taken on my camera) are my buckets of no-clue compost.

Typical morning smoothie ingredients, possibly roasted veggies ...

Typical morning smoothie ingredients, possibly roasted veggies … and first pomegranate of the season…

Quite possibly some chicken stock was brewing here ...

Quite possibly some chicken stock was brewing here …

The ingredients for  Bolognese sauce

The ingredients for Bolognese sauce

"Hunky Soup" as in "from the old country, was a dish my grandmother made, and my mother  made from beef marrow bones.  It's essentially beef vegetable soup with carrots, celery, cabbage, tomatoes and square noodles.  I made homemade artisan rye bread to go with it and it was a comforting Sunday  supper.

“Hunky Soup” as in “from the old country, was a dish my grandmother made, and my mother made from beef marrow bones. It’s essentially beef vegetable soup with carrots, celery, cabbage, tomatoes and square noodles. I made homemade artisan rye bread to go with it and it was a comforting Sunday supper.

Easy: Asparagus Soup!  With homemade bread of course.

Easy: Asparagus Soup! With homemade bread of course.

Chives, orange peels, eggs ... no clue what this bucket produced.
Chives, orange peels, eggs … no clue what this bucket produced.

Are you a short ribs fan?  We think it's a bit too much work for not too much meat, even if it is grass-fed and tasty.  On the other hand, turnips braised in beef broth were simply delicious.

Are you a short ribs fan? We think it’s a bit too much work for not too much meat, even if it is grass-fed and tasty. On the other hand, turnips braised in beef broth were simply delicious.

More soup: this time beef broth from the giant bag I got from the farm.  Also, two sad, bloated, yellowed cucumbers from the garden that nobody wanted to eat.  Can you blame them?

More soup: this time beef broth from the giant bag I got from the farm. Also, two sad, bloated, yellowed cucumbers from the garden that nobody wanted to eat. Can you blame them?  That is home-grown celery in the background that was fab however!

I recognize the home grown arugula leaf that the bugs began to much, and I made a great salad with those bitter greens, but for the life of me, I have no idea what meal came from this bucket ...

I recognize the home grown arugula leaf that the bugs began to much, and I made a great salad with those bitter greens, but for the life of me, I have no idea what meal came from this bucket … the end.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 26, 2013 in The Daily Bucket, Toss It Tuesday

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
