RSS

Sunday Supper: Roast Chicken

03 Nov

Gosh, I love everything about Sunday dinner; planning it, setting the table, serving it, sharing it with people I love, even putting away the leftovers.  (Notice I did not say I love the cleaning up.  Nobody loves the cleaning up.  I’ve got a reputation for using every pot in the house, and then some.)  This was a particularly good one.

Does roast chicken sound boring to you?  Not if it’s a sumptuous chicken from Ancient Paths Farm.  Wow.  It was the plumpest, juiciest, tastiest bird I have ever roasted.  Pastured chicken is heads and shoulders (and feathers) above regular old organic chicken.  If you have the opportunity to buy some in your neck of the woods (haha) take the plunge and try it.   You will NEVER be able to go back.

Funny side story … the day I was scheduled to pick up my chickens, I miscalculated the distance from my home and realized I could not get there AND get my girl from school.  I had to enlist the aid of my parents, who felt like they were driving to a drug deal or at least a clandestine affair.  It was pouring rain and I told them to just look for the van in the lower parking lot of the park near their house … okaaaay … at least I didn’t tell them to do the chicken dance!  Anyway, the chickens were procured with a minimum of fuss and they were really worth the effort.  It made for a lot of fun conversation all around.  The only bad part is I promised them a loaf of Apple Pie Bread … and I still have not baked that … oops.

In any case, here is the extra special super yummy Sunday bucket.

Image

What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • collard green stems and ribs (I hate ribs)
  • brown sage leaves
  • lemon half
  • lots of egg shells

What I made with all of that:

  • Chicken Roasted with Lemons and Sage
  • Creamed Collards (If you hate collards, like many around my dinner table, I promise you will at least be able to eat a few healthy bites of these.  If you love collards, you will want to jump in the serving bowl and swim in these.)
  • Roasted Sugar Snap Peas
  • Potatoes (Normally, I would make mashed potatoes and gravy, but I had leftover “insides” from the potato skins I made for Halloween.  I mixed those up with caramelized onions, lots of butter and good bacon, topped it with shredded parmesan cheese, and baked it till it was a gooey, salty, cheesy, mess.)
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
