RSS

Sick Day …

07 Nov

Not sure about you, but sometimes a sick day feels a bit like a little gift you weren’t expecting.  My boy came home from school last night with a headache, sore throat, and aches all over so he proceeded to curl up with a hot water bottle yellow lab and fell asleep for a few hours.  During that time he developed a high fever and I knew school was out for the next day.

Cue to today and after canceling all plans, dropping my girl at school, and making a quick grocery run, we’ve had a totally laid back kind of lazy, sleepy, snoozy kind of day. (I can’t omit the Madden and FIFA played purely for curative, medicinal purposes.)  I was also able to take the dogs on L O N G  leafy walks, make french onion soup (because this boy will not drink nourishing broth any other way) and drink about a dozen cups of tea.

Have you ever read the labels on TAZO teabags?  So.  Worth.  Reading.  I am currently sipping a cup of my favorite “focus” also known as “a cleverly invigorating mix of malty black tea, roasted yerba mate, orange essence & cocoa peel’.  I knew I liked that tea, but, gosh I never KNEW.

My boy has been savoring “wild sweet orange”, another family favorite, also known as “a juicy herbal infusion of orange peel, lemongrass, citrus herbs and licorice root.”  Maybe I’m just easily amused.

Image

We did generate some compost today …

Image

What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • a TAZO teabag (haha, there are actually six or more in this bucket))
  • orange peels
  • old mushy pomegranate seeds
  • lemon half
  • eggshells
  • an entire package of mushy raspberries (not a single berry was fit for consumption – very sad – so my sick boy had pineapple instead)

Finally, my gorgeous onion and shallot skins that went into the french onion soup.  I used the linked recipe but tweaked it in a big way … not sure it’s my favorite ever, but it smelled good all day and what could be bad topped with cheesy buttered bread?

Image

Thank you God for this sweet and lazy day.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
