RSS

Thanksgiving Test Drive

23 Nov

It was a busy foodie day around here today … baking, baking, baking … trying out some new yeast rolls for the approaching turkey day … but Friday means high school football … and that means boys home after school and before the game … and that means lots of something simple and filling: chili.  Perfect when it is chilly outside too.

Image

What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • apple cores & a moldy apple
  • onion skins & stem ends
  • persimmon peels (WHERE has the fruit been my whole life?  I’m obsessed with it!)
  • eggshells
  • jalapeno ribs & stems end (in middle too)
  • sweet red pepper stem end
  • more apple peels

What I made with all of that:

  • Chili (I’ve made this recipe for YEARS and it never fails.  Of course, I always tweak it and if I am feeding lots of hungry people I double the beans.  I also add a cinnamon stick in lieu of the ground spice and often add a whole dried chili pepper too.  Try it!  It’s a keeper.)
  • Yeast rolls (This recipe is not correctly named, and it takes way more flour than indicated, but I was able to make 18 lovely yeast rolls, and then a dozen cinnamon rolls the following day.  Also a keeper, with tweaks.)
  • Apple Pie Bread (Made this for my mom and day as repayment when they picked up some pastured chickens for me.)

I thought you might like a little baking inspiration …

yeast rolls

And the cinnamon variety …

cinnamon rolls

My apologies for not saving you any.  There was not a crumb left over.  Which is good, since rolls don’t compost anyway …

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
