RSS

Sunday Supper: Brrr!

24 Nov

Wow!  Forty degrees for a high temp in Atlanta is like … forty degrees.  Baby, it’s cold outside!  And now that most of the leaves have fallen from the trees, there is a lot of gardening to be done.  Luckily, my head gardener was up for the chores and he left the yard free of leaves, the compost pile overflowing with them, and the yard perfectly pristine.

Did I take any pictures of that buried compost pile?  No.  I was too busy inside cooking a big Sunday dinner to warm him up.  More to come soon, but I did take a photo of the lovely pile of my own trimmings  …

Image

Am I the only one who thinks food scraps are pretty?  I just love all the colors and shapes and smells.  Yes, it’s odd, but I think you can see the beauty in many places.  So here’s what you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • sweet potato peels
  • turnip stem ends and peels
  • garlic paper
  • thyme and rosemary stems
  • shallot peels and stem ends

What I made with all of that:

A perfect Roasted Pork Loin with Roasted Turnips and Mashed Sweet Potatoes.  For once, I did not make dessert for Sunday Supper.  I simply suggested they have another helping of the sweet potatoes … you know if you pile them in a piecrust and bake them it’s the same food under a different name!

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
