RSS

Green Soup Sam-I-Am

07 Dec

Next time you wondering what to do with all those leafy greens that seem to be ubiquitous, check this recipe out.  I admit, it is kind of a scary color for soup and it does look like the beginning meal of a cleanse regimen, but, I assure you that not only is it delicious and an oft-requested recipe in my house, it also uses up all the greens in my farm share bag!  Yay!  So here’s the official Bon Appetit photo.

What did I tell you?  Beautiful?  I have endlessly adapted this recipe to use up kale, collards, and chard and played with the mix of leafy herbs accordingly; parsley, cilantro, basil, mint … I’ve used homemade veggie and chicken stock … goat cheese and feta … this soup is endlessly forgiving and if you pair it with some nice crusty bread you’ve got a memorable, delicious meal.  IF you are a green veggie fan.  Full disclosure: one boy will NOT eat this meal and it’s leftovers for him.

And my bucket?  It’s awfully pink for a green soup …

swiss chard 12.6.13

What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • spent Alstomeria blooms
  • colorful swiss chard stems
  • eggshells
  • tangerine peels
  • Swiss chard stems (can’t see on bottom)
  • parsley stems (can’t see on bottom)

Now, please, go make your own soup.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
