RSS

Weather Alert Do-Over

07 Feb

Last week we were slammed with (inches of) snow and the city shut down, right?  So, yesterday when there was a twenty percent chance of rain and snow flurries, the fun part of high school, varsity boys soccer, got cancelled.  And there was no snow.  Better safe than sorry I suppose.  (Full disclosure: I did stock up on extra bread and milk, because everybody knows it’s a law that snow requires hot chocolate and cinnamon toast.)

When I was finally back in my kitchen trying to figure out dinner after a day of organizing team rosters, announcer duties and a big team meal (which luckily took place), I realized that a busy day equals less veggies in the compost bucket, more starch, and meals grabbed from the pantry.  If I liked math and data analysis a bit more I might plot it out.  But I don’t.  Instead I’ll tell you about my bucket.  It’s actually two days worth of stuff and it doesn’t seem very empty, but it FELT empty.  Does that make sense?

linguine clam sauce 2.6.14

What you can see (clockwise top to bottom):

  • banana peels
  • onion skins
  • lemon segments
  • apple core
  • spent spider mums from my husband’s semi surprise birthday party
  • more lemon  and banana skin
  • garlic paper
  • more onion skin
  • eggshells
  • avocado shell

What you can’t see:

  • more eggshells
  • a few squishy strawberries
  • some yellowed spinach leaves
  • three teabags
  • grapefruit rind (they take up a lot of space!)
  • carrot scrapings & stem ends
  • celery stem ends

What I made with all of that:

  • Spinach & Parmesan Scrambled Eggs
  • Blackberry Strawberry Smoothies (with the last of the berries we hand picked, goodbye summer!)
  • Carrot & Celery Sticks with Hummus (lunch)
  • Ham Sandwiches with Spinach & a side of Avocado (packed lunch)
  • Linguine with Clam Sauce (Wednesday night pantry meal)
  • Red Macaroni (Thursday night pantry meal)

Looking forward to the weekend where I’m planning lots of veggie love and, weather permitting, a peek into my garden.

  • tangerine peel
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 7, 2014 in The Daily Bucket

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
